Welcome to Estonia!
We are pleased to invite all specialists on trilobites and related arthropods to attend the 6th International Conference on Trilobites and their Relatives, to be held in Tallinn, the capital of Estonia from 7-10 July 2017. 

Tallinn Old Town is an UNESCO World Heritage Site dating from the 13th century, when a castle was built there by the crusading knights of the Teutonic Order. It developed as a major centre of the Hanseatic League, and its wealth is demonstrated by the opulence of the public buildings and the domestic architecture of the merchants' houses, which have survived to a remarkable degree despite the ravages of fire and war in the intervening centuries. From July 2017, Estonia will hold the presidency of the EU Council

  The goal of the conference is to present and discuss recent progress in studies on all aspects of trilobites and their relatives (e.g. morphology, evolution, phylogeny, ecology, geography). The pre- and post-conference field trips will examine trilobite-bearing rocks from the lower Cambrian to upper Silurian.

  • 3rd July   Arrival in Tallinn for Pre-conference excursion
  • 4-7th July   Pre-conference excursion East from Tallinn
  • 7th July   Registration and Icebreaker reception
  • 8th, 10th July   Scientific sessions
  • 9th July   Intra-conference excursion near Tallinn
  • 9th July   Conference Dinner
  • 11-15th July  Post-conference excursion  West from Tallinn

Important dates
  • 8th April Deadline for financial assistance applications
  • 1st April  Deadline for early bird registration and payment of registration and excursion fees 
  • 8th April  Deadline for abstract submission
  • 1st May  Final circular
  • 22nd September Manuscript submission
Organizing and Scientific Committee
  • Dr Helje Pärnaste (Chair)
  • MSc Ethel Tamm (Secretary) - Estonian Museum of Natural History, Estonia
  • MSc Mare Isakar - Natural History Museum, University of Tartu, Estonia
  • Professor Jonathan Adrain - The University of Iowa, USA
  • Professor Per Ahlberg - Lund University, Sweden
  • Professor Emeritus David L. Bruton - Natural History Museum, Oslo University, Norway
  • Professor Emeritus Brian D. E. Chatterton - University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada
  • Dr Catherine Crônier - The Lille University of Science and Technology, France
  • Dr Jan Ove Ebbestad - Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Dr Jorge Esteve - Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
  • Dr David Holloway - Museums Victoria, Melbourne, Australia
  • Professor Nigel C. Hughes - University of California, Riverside, USA
  • Professor James Lamsdell - West Virginia University, USA
  • Dr Lucy M. E. McCobb - National Museum Wales, UK
  • Dr Javier Ortega-Hernández - University of Cambridge, UK
  • Dr Alan Owen - University of Glasgow, UK
  • Professor Brian R. Pratt - University of Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Dr Anna Żylińska - University of Warsaw, Poland


Private backers